The CU Foundation

The Credit Union Foundation of the Dakotas (CUFD) is a unique shared investment program that strengthens the credit union movement throughout the Dakotas, across the US, and worldwide. You choose to help all credit unions make a difference.

Purpose: To build community awareness of Dakota credit unions through support of children’s charities; community and social impact organizations or projects; financial education and financial literacy programs through the credit union chapter system; and to provide higher education scholarships throughout our service region in the Dakotas.

Mission: To establish a charitable Credit Union Foundation so that we can sustain long lasting contributions with a more significant impact on our Dakota credit unions and their communities they serve.


The Credit Union Foundation of the Dakotas will award ten $500 scholarships for applicants that exemplify the credit union philosophy of “people helping people” through volunteering, community service, and leadership.

NEW THIS YEAR: Applicants must be planning to attend an accredited college or university or technical/vocational school in the fall upon high school graduation OR be currently enrolled in an accredited college or university OR technical/vocational school or planning to enroll in an accredited college or university or technical/vocational school.

Five scholarships will be awarded to North Dakota applicants and five to South Dakota applicants. 

Credit Union Foundation of the Dakotas Scholarship Form

Applications must be postmarked by March 30, 2018 and sent to the following address: 

Attn:  CUFD Financial Education Scholarship
         Credit Union Association of the Dakotas
         2005 North Kavaney Drive
         Bismarck, ND 58501

Foundation Board

  • Mike Reisnour, Chair - Dakota Plains CU
  • Darla Schafer, Vice Chair - Flasher Community CU
  • Katie Dressler, Secretary/Staff Liaison - CUAD
  • Darla Erb - Voyage FCU
  • Shannon Webster - Town & Country CU
  • Abby Murano- Aberdeen Federal Credit Union
  • Jane Duerre- Norstar Federal Credit Union
  • Jeff Olson- CUAD
  • John Schlimgen - Alloya Corporate FCU
  • Hannibal Brumskine, Deputy Executive Director, COO/CFO - National Credit Union Foundation