Candidates Announced for Your Association Board!
by CUAD Communications

Two of the Credit Union Association of the Dakotas Board of Directors’ terms will be expiring at the end of 2020. Jeff Schmidt, CEO of Voyage FCU (Sioux Falls, SD) who represents South Dakota Division B, has opted not to run for re-election. However, we are pleased to announce that two very qualified credit union professionals have stepped up to fill the vacancy. The election will take place during the Association’s Annual Meeting which will be held on October 6 in Sioux Falls, SD during the 2020 Summit.


Keith Robbennolt has been the President/CEO of Sentinel FCU (Box Elder, SD) since 2018. He is a South Dakota native, who holds degrees in both Business Administration and Marketing. Prior to joining the credit union movement, Keith worked in the banking world for nearly 20 years in positions ranging from teller to senior vice president of production/branch operations. Learn more about Keith from this CEO Spotlight piece from May of 2018.

Dawn VanAsh has been involved with credit unions for more than 30 years. Starting as a teller, she was promoted to several roles including loan officer and assistant manager, prior to becoming CEO of Oahe FCU (Pierre, SD). A South Dakota native, she is a graduate of CUNA Management School. Her previous work experience included retail sales and working for the State of South Dakota. Learn more about Dawn from this CEO Spotlight from April 2017.


Melanie Stillwell is the CEO of Western Cooperative CU (Williston, ND) and was elected to the Association Board in 2017. Since her board seat is uncontested, she has agreed to stay on for another three-year term. Melanie has vast experience in the credit union industry, as a senior vice president of finance, as a former NCUA examiner, as an executive vice president, and as CEO. She holds degrees in both accounting and finance. Learn more about Melanie in this CEO Spotlight from May of 2017.


Your current Association Board Members shown L to R with Jeff Olson, President/CEO at far right: 

  • Jerry Peterson – Consumers FCU (SD Division C)
  • Darla Schafer – Flasher Community CU (ND Division C)
  • Lacey TerWee – University FCU (ND Division B)
  • Melanie Stillwell – Western Cooperative CU (ND Division A)
  • Jarod Reisner – Black Hills FCU (SD Division A)
  • Jeff Schmidt – Voyage FCU (SD Division B)
  • Sean Rinkenberger – First Community CU (Multi-State At Large) 


<< Go to Memo List