Meet Your New CUAD Board!
by Shawn Marie Brummer
Director of Communications

The 12th CUAD Annual Business Meeting took place at the Embassy Suites in Scottsdale Wednesday morning, on the last day of the Summit. CUAD President/CEO Jeff Olson addressed the group of more than 100 credit union professionals including 76 delegates representing 30 credit unions. Olson provided a report on the state of the credit union movement which is growing in membership, while the number of credit unions are shrinking due to consolidations. Olson also provided a recap of CUAD’s highlights in the areas of advocacy, compliance, and communications.

Shannon Webster provided the Board Chair Report, in which she listed other successes CUAD had this year, including the formation of a cost saving Health Benefits Trust for North Dakota credit unions, expanded chapter education programming, and regulatory relief wins in our advocacy efforts at the state and national levels. Webster also reiterated that CUAD is in a financially strong position at this time, with $2.6M in reserves.

Dakota League Service Corp Board Chair, Jarrod Reisner, also provided a report, and stated that the for-profit division of the Association is generating non-dues revenue with the PeeWee Penguin expanded product line and subscriptions.

Darla Schafer, board member for the Credit Union Foundation of the Dakotas reported that the charitable foundation raised $22,000 in 2017 that is earmarked for scholarships and other projects that support awareness of credit unions in the Dakotas. The CUFD has received 178 scholarship applications from 35 credit unions this year, and winners will be announced in May.

Under the category of new business this year were two board positions up for election. North Dakota Division C, represented by Veronica Holweger, was unopposed. She has been duly elected for a third term. The Multi-State position had three candidates: Chad Bartosh, Railway CU; Sean Rinkenberger, First Community CU; and Keith Mantz, Capital CU. Rinkenberger earned the most votes and will now be representing credit unions in both states, as the Multi-State At-Large position can be from either North or South Dakota and from any Division of credit union.

A brief re-organization meeting was held after the Annual Meeting.

The new CUAD Board and their assignments are as follows:

  • CUAD Board Chair: Jarrod Reisner, Black Hills FCU;
  • 1st Vice Chair CUAD: Melanie Stillwell, Western Cooperative CU;
  • 2nd Vice Chair CUAD: Mary Connick, Minuteman FCU;
  • Dakota League Service Corp Chair: Nick Woodard, United Savings CU;
  • 1st Vice Chair Dakota League Service Corp: Jeff Schmidt, Voyage FCU;
  • 2nd Vice Chair Dakota League Service Corp: Sean Rinkenberger, First Community CU; and
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Veronica Holweger, Riverfork FCU.

Photo L to R: Jarrod Reisner, Nick Woodard, Mary Connick, Jeff Schmidt,

Veronica Holweger, Sean Rinkenberger, Melanie Stillwell, and Jeff Olson. 

<< Go to Memo List